Mosaic Zoo – An ABC Book – Barb Keith

“Mosaic Zoo: An ABC Book” by Barbara Benson Keith

Filled with Barbara Benson Keith’s beautiful mosaic illustrations, Mosaic Zoo: An ABC Book will quickly become a favorite!

Sneak peek – Mosaic Giraffe – Barb Keith

You will find an inquisitive giraffe, a determined tortoise, a playful raccoon, and more. There are some interesting facts about the animals and also a page describing the mosaic process.

Check it out at Brownian Bee Press


Mosaic Artist – Barbara Keith

Mosaic Artist – Barbara Keith – St. Paul, Minnesota

“I am a self-taught glass mosaicist living in St. Paul, Minnesota. My path to mosaics began when I took a class about stained glass windows. After creating several pieces, I had quite a bit of scrap glass and decided to try making a mosaic. I absolutely loved it and found that I had a knack for it. I created a second project, but that was it for a while. Then I was inspired by the ancient mosaics during a trip to Italy. Fired up, I couldn’t wait to return home to create another piece. They have been coming fast and furious ever since.

Drawing upon my training in art and graphic design, my artwork continues to evolve and change. Though I love completing a piece, one of my favorite parts of the process is looking at a blank space and knowing that before long I will have filled it, but at the moment, I have no idea what shape my creation will take.

I love working with glass. It is a very unique medium for mosaics and it is very striking whether viewed up close or from a distance. I’m fascinated with its special way of playing with the light, shining and showing off its beautiful color, and in its ability to create the illusion of depth.”

Barbara Keith – Barbara Keith Design