Heads of State – Mosaic Artist – Daryl Lynne Wood

I am honored to present this month’s featured Mosaic Artist, Daryl Lynne Wood

Daryl Lynne’s latest mosaic ‘Heads of State, Round Table Summit’ is so incredibly unique that I knew there must be a story behind it. I asked if she could provide a little insight into her inspiration & process…

Daryl Lynne When I work in my studio I listen to CBC all day. I hear so many programs about Round Table Summit Meetings along with all the atrocities on the daily news. I become overwhelmed with the thought of wasted human life in areas of cultural conflict.

Being able to create art work in a peaceful setting usually seems so far removed from the everyday suffering of so many people, that I wanted to make some small effort towards the idea of communication and tolerance amongst varied cultures.

My purpose became to manifest “peace by piece”. I laid each mosaic piece in the hope of communicating an alternative to violent conflict and the idea that mixed cultures could co-exist the way varied materials coexist in harmony in a mosaic.

M.A.S. Mosaic Gallery – Mosaic Artist – Daryl Lynne Wood

Mosaic Art Focus – The Mosaic Art Source Newsletter

Please Note: This Mosaic Image may not be reproduced in any form without the legal authorization of the artist. Please be aware that Mosaic Artists worldwide have united to form an International Mosaic Art Watch Group that will support the prosecution of anyone who does so.