my work, mosaic Spiral Sphere (3) on Flickr – Photo Sharing!

For the mosaic, I used two kinds of glass tiles. The unicoloured ones
(notably the ivory border and the red tiles) were bought at shops for
Tiffany supplies. For the multicoloured ones, I cut a large glass pane
(that I received from fellow Flickr member “CptHarlock”, thank you very
much) into tiles, then hand-painted each one and burned them in the
oven.

I then glued the tiles to a 30-cm glass lamp, i.e. a semitransparent white glass sphere with a light bulb inside.

With the multicoloured tiles, I wanted to create a kind of
Hundertwasser object with a tiffany-lamp look, so I mixed them in a
spiral around the lamp. To give the composition more structure, I
enclosed the multicoloured spiral with the ivory tiles on both sides.
For variety, I also mixed the ivory tiles with mirror tiles. These
appear as dark patches in this picture, since they are not transparent,
but look great in direct sunlight, giving the room a lots of disco ball
reflections.

my work, mosaic Window (2) on Flickr – Photo Sharing!

table lamp, diameter ca. 25 cm, mosaic made with glass.

my work, mosaic Window (1) on Flickr – Photo Sharing!

table lamp, diameter ca. 25 cm, mosaic made with glass.