Tao Of Kitty (1 of 4) on Flickr – Photo Sharing!

Tao Of Kitty (2 of 4) on Flickr – Photo Sharing!

Tao Of Kitty (4 of 4) on Flickr – Photo Sharing!

Tao Of Kitty (3 of 4) on Flickr – Photo Sharing!

Picasso’s Mews (1 of 3) on Flickr – Photo Sharing!

Picasso’s Mews (3 of 3) on Flickr – Photo Sharing!

Picasso’s Mews (2 of 3) on Flickr – Photo Sharing!

Hellgirl (1 of 3) on Flickr – Photo Sharing!

Functional mosaic art lamp, glass mosaic

Hellgirl (2 of 3) on Flickr – Photo Sharing!

Hellgirl (3 of 3) on Flickr – Photo Sharing!

Functional mosaic art lamp lit up, glass mosaic

Julie Lucus Bio:

I feel fortunate to have worked in a very creative field over the last 20 years in corporate video production as a producer, writer, and editor. Although my profession has allowed me to broaden my personal sphere of creativity in many directions, over time it became less rewarding than it once was.

It was my desire to recapture the thrill of a “truly creative experience” which urged me to begin experimenting with new mediums.

What I have discovered in the course of working with new mediums is I enjoy learning new techniques almost as much as creating art itself. I feel the process of experimentation has allowed me to grow as an artist … in many surprising directions. I’ve also learned that stagnation is far more frightening than failure.

My work represents the transformation of the ordinary into the fascinating and exotic. Old and new materials and objects find unexpected uses in my art. I disassemble, reassemble, and juxtapose these objects and materials in what might be considered, “irreverent or mischievous” ways.

It is through this process of destruction and reconstruction that I explore and contemplate the ambiguities of emotion, religion, gender, sex, and power.

Julie Lucus