Mosaic steps in Santa Teresa in Rio. (same steps from previous 2 pic.) on Flickr – Photo Sharing!

A escada de azulejos da Lapa. on Flickr – Photo Sharing!

the great madness on Flickr – Photo Sharing!

Escadaria Selaron, Lap on Flickr – Photo Sharing!

A escada de azulejos da Lapa. on Flickr – Photo Sharing!

101_0057 on Flickr – Photo Sharing!

Escadaria Santa Teresa – Rio de Janeiro on Flickr – Photo Sharing!

A escada de azulejos da Lapa. The stair of tiles on Flickr – Photo Sharing!

A escada de azulejos da Lapa. on Flickr – Photo Sharing!


Jorge Selaron Palma Louca – Photo Journals – Selarón’s world -

Who is Jorge Selaron?

“I was born in Chilli in 1947 and, after travelling, working and living in more than 50 countries, I arrived in Brazil in 1983. In 1990, I started work on my major masterpiece which, little by little, turned into the most original stairway in the world. It has 250 stairs and is 125 metres long.

In the beginning, everyone laughed at me I covered the steps in green, blue and yellow tiles – the colours of the Brazilian flag. As I worked, my profession changed from painter to sculptor, my hands covered in blood, calluses, irritating and in pain. Even though the work was difficult, I was passionate about it.

The rent was late, the phone was cut but every time I succeeded in finding some money, I bought materials and continued, obsessed and possessed. I worked without rest and I stopped when I had no more material left. When that happened, I painted paintings to earn some money so that I would be able to continue my work. Since 1977, I have painted and drawn over 25,000 pregnant women, my choice of subject due to a past personal issue. I have already painted more than 300 tiles and I have put much of my life into my masterpiece. I have invented a fantastic unique technique which consists of constantly changing the tiles. This gives a unique energy, and makes it a living, mutating work of art with over 2000 different tiles, collected in over 60 different countries.”

Selarón

Mosaic Stairs – Santa Teresa Steps – Mosaic Artist – Jorge Selaron

Mosaic Art Source – Mosaic Stairs & Step Images Archive

